Double sided frame for silk map

Post examples...
Of framing styles or techniques that rocked your boat, and also of those that didn't
kaptain.kopter

Double sided frame for silk map

Post by kaptain.kopter »

Hi

I've just joined this forum and hope you can all point me in the right direction. I've been asked to frame an escape and evasion map from the last Gulf war. Unfortunately it's double sided and on silk. It is around A2 size and has got me thinking more than I like. Is there any suggestions as to what is the best way to tackle this job? I'm sorry to sound like a biff, but I'm a photographer who has just started framing, as my regular framer has moved to Scotland. I did a basic framing course but nothing prepared me for this sort of thing. Any help is gratefully received.
osgood

Post by osgood »

Perhaps you could do a more intensive framing course before you tackle a job like this, or even consider sending the job out to a framer who knows how to do it correctly?

I wonder what advice you would give to someone who bought a camera and set themselves up in business as a photographer only knowing how to load film in the camera and press the shutter button?
and has got me thinking more than I like.
My advice is to stick to photography!
Dermot

Post by Dermot »

Have a look here

http://www.thegrumble.com/cgibin/ultima ... 5;t=000297

an have a good search aroud the Grumble this subject has been discussed many times on quite a few threads....

Good luck

Oh....welcome to "The Picture Framer's Forum"

Rgs

Dermot
John
Site Admin
Organisation: Scenes Picture Framing
Interests: Forums and stuff

Post by John »

Hi kaptain.kopter,

Welcome to the forum.

I trust Dermot's link pointed you in the right direction.
Framing Norah

Post by Framing Norah »

Hi kaptain.kopter

It is unfortunate that some framers are unable to walk and also chew gum.

Pay no heed, it is possible to be a photographer and also make picture frames.