Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Computerised Mount Cutters, Computers, other gadgetry.
Post Reply
User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Thu 23 Jan, 2020 7:55 pm

So , been thinking about when I down size / relocate my business when I go into semi-retirement, trying to keep the overheads down, I don't want to really have to sign up to a lengthy contract for a phone landlines along with broadband . To run things I will need to have access to the Internet for emails, downloading mailorders and printing (ebay / website orders) online access to Royal Mail website to print mailorders postage / address labels, logon to ebay/ website, issue invoices, in fact most day to day running which you take for granted now a days
So can I do this with my Samsung phone and tablet,
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

fusionframer
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu 02 Sep, 2010 8:16 pm
Location: Badminton
Organisation: Fusion Picture Framing
Interests: framing
Location: Badminton

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by fusionframer » Thu 23 Jan, 2020 8:31 pm

As long as you have decent 4g signal where you are, you will be fine. I have a sim only deal with 10gb for about £15 per month which i more than i ever get close to.

You can also tether your phone to your laptop and run the laptop using your 4g signal.

Nick
www.fusionframing.co.uk

Never trust a dog with orange eyebrows.

User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Thu 23 Jan, 2020 9:34 pm

"You can also tether your phone to your laptop and run the laptop using your 4g signal."

Intresting, just checked it out on YouTube, look really simple
Thank for that Nick

Cheers
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

fusionframer
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu 02 Sep, 2010 8:16 pm
Location: Badminton
Organisation: Fusion Picture Framing
Interests: framing
Location: Badminton

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by fusionframer » Thu 23 Jan, 2020 9:55 pm

No problem, i get really good signal from my workshop as i can just see the mobile mast on the next hill.

Nick
www.fusionframing.co.uk

Never trust a dog with orange eyebrows.

User avatar
StevenG
Posts: 1043
Joined: Thu 31 Jan, 2013 8:01 am
Location: Tyrone, N.Ireland
Organisation: Featurepiece Frames
Interests: Movies, always trying to get things better, Wasting money on things I don't need, reading stuff on here, eating sandwiches & being thankful for the small things
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by StevenG » Thu 23 Jan, 2020 10:38 pm

Yes, tethering your phone or creating a hotspot from it could be another idea. My 'landline' is actually an IP phone with a local number attached to it so, again, you don't need a dedicated line. I can take my phone anywhere that has an Internet connection and anyone who calls my local number will get through to me regardless of where I am in the world.

The future is here guys :)

User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Fri 24 Jan, 2020 4:49 am

Thanks Steven
I look into about attaching a local number

Cheers
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

User avatar
pramsay13
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue 27 Sep, 2011 11:46 am
Location: Lanarkshire
Organisation: Picture Framer (ML)
Interests: picture framing (no, really!) sport, music
Location: Stonehouse, Lanarkshire
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by pramsay13 » Tue 28 Jan, 2020 10:52 pm

It would be very easy to do it without the landline although if you already have a number that people know I would be inclined to keep it and get it forwarded to a mobile number.

I currently use a powerline adapter from the house to the workshop so i have wifi, but everything I need is on my mobile phone so I would be able to do everything on my phone network if required.

NessFramers
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun 08 May, 2016 9:43 pm
Location: Inverness
Organisation: NessFramers
Interests: Football, walking, sermons

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by NessFramers » Thu 30 Jan, 2020 11:49 am

I think that nowadays most people use mobile phones or social media for everything, I also think that landlines are becoming obsolete due to cheap charges from mobile networks.

I’ve never had a customer complain or moan about me not having a landline as they find it easier to text me or call me on their mobile. Also, it’s easier for me to text customers when jobs are ready, and I have a record of it.

I use GiffGaff £10.00 per month for unlimited calls, unlimited texts and 6GB data which is plenty for me to hook up wireless printer, laptop etc, when required through tethering. :)

Justintime
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat 26 Sep, 2015 8:48 am
Location: North Pembs
Organisation: George the Framer
Interests: Art photography gardening framing
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Justintime » Thu 30 Jan, 2020 12:16 pm

Yes

User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Thu 30 Jan, 2020 12:23 pm

Thanks for the replies, now a lot clearer of what my options are, will be testing the tethering with laptop and get my (now) business landline attached to my mobile :sweating:
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

Justintime
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat 26 Sep, 2015 8:48 am
Location: North Pembs
Organisation: George the Framer
Interests: Art photography gardening framing
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Justintime » Thu 30 Jan, 2020 4:46 pm

Steve, i was interrupted. I meant to add, that you can get a router that will run on a sim card for wireless or ethernet connections, like this..

You'll just have to take advice from your local mobile shop about how much data you might need per month. Obviously choose the provider with the best signal at the premises.
Hope that's more helpful than my previous reply!

User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Thu 30 Jan, 2020 6:35 pm

Hi Justin,
No problem, I have the same problem with customers coming in and interrupting me when I'm on the Forum,
Thanks for the router info/link, will definitely look into that
Cheers

(Edit) just checked this router out on Amazon, really interesting, might get one and ditch BT Broadband now , before I downsize and move, many thanks Justin for passing this on :clap:
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

poliopete
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon 04 Apr, 2016 7:13 am
Location: The Wash
Organisation: Annie Lou Fine Framing
Interests: Caring for my wife, Picture Framing and Natural History

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by poliopete » Fri 31 Jan, 2020 8:01 am

Hi Steve :D

Before you ditch BT Broadband consider your options.

I have never been a fan of BT but the latest updated deal I have from them with a new router is working out well. :yes:

Peter.

User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Fri 31 Jan, 2020 10:15 am

Hi Peter
I have had problems with BT's Broadband for the last 12 years, was told Infinity would solve all my problems, like heck it does! even had a £600.00 stuck on a bill (was on Direct Debit at the time) because two engineers came and could not find a problem , next day it was back again :xcomputer: :xcomputer:
It's no use switching to another supplier as they all use BT's network, then when there is a problem , would get push from pillar to post
So if I can this to work, it's bye bye BT
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Tue 18 Feb, 2020 1:23 pm

so for an update.
Thanks to Justintimefor the link for
D-Link DWR-921/B 4G/3G LTE Unlocked Multi WAN Wireless N300 Mobile Broadband Router with 4-Port Ethernet - UK Version

Installed it at the weekend, switch off my BT router. going to run the D-Link for a couple of months to see how I get on, I have got a 'sim only' deal from Tesco Mobile on pay monthly , £12.50 for 10 Gb of data.

So I just have to watch my data usage , will be monitoring it

The only problem I have come across is when I try to login to 'My Account' with Tesco Mobile on my desktop, is I enter my usernam and pass word , then the website ask for the pin number sent to the mobile phone number for that sim card, so I spoke to customer services and they said that how it work, take the sim out and put it in a phone , to which I said if I do that, the internet stops working and I can't enter the pin :xcomputer: :head:
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

Justintime
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat 26 Sep, 2015 8:48 am
Location: North Pembs
Organisation: George the Framer
Interests: Art photography gardening framing
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Justintime » Tue 18 Feb, 2020 3:15 pm

Does that not work?
To put the sim in phone receive pin, put sim back in, reconnect and enter?

User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Tue 18 Feb, 2020 3:42 pm

It's a lot of farting around, the router is upstairs in the workshop, the desktop is downstairs, my spare phone is at home 9.5 miles away ( :giggle: ) plus it take about 10 mins to power up the router, to get the connections , don't know if the dialogue box will still be there on the screen, because when I take the sim card out the internet connection will be lost, I don't think you can re-establish the connection while the browser window is still open, if I try again it will send a different pin. So looks like at least once a month I will take the sim card home with me and use it in my spare phone and use the computer at home to check the account, I have the app on my phone, but it does not allow you to do much with the account
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

User avatar
[email protected]
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed 13 Oct, 2004 1:50 am
Location: Providence, Rhode Island (USA)
Organisation: Get The Picture Framing & thegrumble.com
Interests: Framing, technology, electronics. Computer consultant and framer
Location: Providence, RI USA
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by [email protected] » Thu 12 Nov, 2020 11:52 am

Voice over IP is another very inexpensive alternative. That's what we have used for our shop for the past 6+ years (and at home for more than 10 years) It costs a fraction of the price, and works with some pretty fancy phones (or existing analog phones, if you equip it accordingly). You just plug the phone or device into Ethernet, it doesn't matter where it is.

It also works with a smartphone app, so it will simultaneously ring the shop number on your mobile phone.

During the pandemic when we were on lockdown, this worked very well to run the shop from home. At first, with the app on the mobile phone - but then we went to the shop and brought one of the VOIP feature phones home. Plugged that into Ethernet at home, logged into our cloud based point of sale (Lifesaver), and we were able to field calls/give quotes/schedule appointments.

VOIP is worth considering, IMO :)
Frame shop: Get The Picture Framing RI USA
Administrator: The Picture Framers Grumble
POS & CMC comparison lists: Click Here

User avatar
Steve N
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sat 21 Jul, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Soon to be Staple Hill Bristol
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly
Location: Soon to be Bristol
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to run a business without a landlines

Post by Steve N » Thu 12 Nov, 2020 7:35 pm

Thanks Mike, I will take a look into VOIP, thanks for the info
Steve CEO GCF (020)
Believed in Time Travel since 2035

Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/

Post Reply