Windows 7 & Vitual PC

Computerised Mount Cutters, Computers, other gadgetry.
Post Reply
Ian Goodman
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat 22 May, 2004 1:07 pm
Location: Ashtonfield NSW Australia
Organisation: Ian Goodman Photography
Interests: Chinese Cooking.
Playing with my Grandchildren
Photoshop Training with Maitland U3A
Location: Ashtonfield - Australia

Windows 7 & Vitual PC

Post by Ian Goodman » Mon 28 Dec, 2009 11:59 am

Hi this is a question for Mike I think

I have upgraded my main PC to windows 7 64bit version so that I can put some more ram into it to overcome the ram hungry programs that I use as a Photographer.

Microsoft have released a Vitual PC to work with Windows 7 and this is so that you can get some of your older programs working again that will not load in the Windows 7 64 bit environment.

I use a QNAP TS219P nas which I can see normally on the Windows 7 platform but not on the virtual PC platform.
Do you know how to get the virtual machine to see the network and in my case only the virtual pc is al that can be seen on the Windows Network.

I have created a network in the Virtual machine but still cannot see the NAS.

I do hope you vcan help with this one?

User avatar
John
Site Admin
Posts: 1916
Joined: Sun 27 Apr, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Ireland
Organisation: Scenes Picture Framing
Interests: Forums and stuff
Location: Belfast
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 & Vitual PC

Post by John » Mon 28 Dec, 2009 5:42 pm

A shot in the dark I know, but does this help?

Ian Goodman
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat 22 May, 2004 1:07 pm
Location: Ashtonfield NSW Australia
Organisation: Ian Goodman Photography
Interests: Chinese Cooking.
Playing with my Grandchildren
Photoshop Training with Maitland U3A
Location: Ashtonfield - Australia

Re: Windows 7 & Vitual PC

Post by Ian Goodman » Wed 30 Dec, 2009 3:34 am

Thank you for the info but that did not help.

w00dward
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri 02 Mar, 2007 11:50 am
Location: Launceston, Cornwall
Organisation: Just here
Interests: 42
Location: Launceston, Cornwall

Re: Windows 7 & Vitual PC

Post by w00dward » Wed 30 Dec, 2009 10:14 pm

I'm not familiar with Win 7 and the built in virtual PC but I'll give it a go.

Can you give me a screen shot of the network settings screen John linked to?
What do you have the network adaptor set to?

If it is NAT then make sure the network settings on the guest OS to DHCP, virtual PC should manage the network cards. If you do need to define your own IP address then set the virtual PC network settings to bridged and create your own IP address and gateway. Make sure though it is on the same subnet as the host PC.

Once this is done can you ping anything on your network? Start with the IP address of the host PC and then the NAS unit. Can you ping the NAS unit from the host PC?
Paul.

Alcohol does not make you FAT
- it makes you LEAN ….
against tables, chairs, floors, walls and ugly people.

Ian Goodman
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat 22 May, 2004 1:07 pm
Location: Ashtonfield NSW Australia
Organisation: Ian Goodman Photography
Interests: Chinese Cooking.
Playing with my Grandchildren
Photoshop Training with Maitland U3A
Location: Ashtonfield - Australia

Re: Windows 7 & Vitual PC

Post by Ian Goodman » Fri 01 Jan, 2010 7:10 am

With regard to the Virtual PC in Windows 7.
It appears as if Microsoft forgot to deliver two important files to get the netwok up and running I found the details of how to do this on www.brianpeek.com to which Microsoft make reference to, I am hopeful that microsoft will fix this problem with an Update for Windows Virtual PC.
So thank you to all who contibuted to this problem but all is working now.

Post Reply