Italics

Site announcements
Problems/suggestions/Questions

Italics

Postby Roboframer » Fri May 07, 2010 8:10 pm

When anyone uses italics with the [i] feature I can't see them just a blank space - I can only see them if I use the quote facility.

Even get a blank space in this post where I have put the word 'italics' in italics - is it just me?
Roboframer
 

Lion Pictureframing Sipplies

Re: Italics

Postby Merlin » Fri May 07, 2010 8:17 pm

Hi Robo

this is ITALICS

I can see this no problem
User avatar
Merlin
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Cornwall
Organisation: Merlin Mounts
Interests: Aviation

Re: Italics

Postby John » Fri May 07, 2010 8:32 pm

I can see the italics in your post Roboframer.

Haven't come across this before.

Have you experimented with combinations of bold, italic, and underline?

Is it the same in all browsers?
User avatar
John
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:00 pm
Location: Belfast
Location: Ireland
Organisation: EstLite
Interests: 10

Re: Italics

Postby Dermot » Fri May 07, 2010 8:36 pm

maybe Robo's "i" is for invisable ..... :giggle:
Dermot
 

Re: Italics

Postby Roboframer » Fri May 07, 2010 9:07 pm

John wrote:
Have you experimented with combinations of bold, italic, and underline?

Is it the same in all browsers?


I can see bold italics can't see coloured italics underlined italics or just normal italics

On my screen the above reads "I can see bold italics can't see" :?: - Oh and I get a one character underline a few spaces after that!

Same in AOL and IE. - I can see that underline. and that red is OK too.
Roboframer
 

Re: Italics

Postby John » Fri May 07, 2010 9:23 pm

If you can access the forum from the shop, do you have the same problem there?
User avatar
John
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:00 pm
Location: Belfast
Location: Ireland
Organisation: EstLite
Interests: 10

Re: Italics

Postby Roboframer » Fri May 07, 2010 10:09 pm

It's this PC - Pat can read it fine from her laptop. :xcomputer:
Roboframer
 

Re: Italics

Postby Roboframer » Mon May 24, 2010 11:32 pm

OK - this is probably in the wrong forum now - it should be in the techie forum, but seeing as I started it here .............................

This site - is the only other place I've had big gaps where there are italics - I copied and pasted the first para in to Word and got nothing at all bar a few dots!

So I came here and pasted the same (below) and got the lot - but no italics.

Wot's goin' on?



Anybody who drives a car in the UK must, at the time of their driving test, demonstrate at least a nodding acquaintance with the Highway Code. It is a book published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office, a quaintly-named body which exists to charge us money for the privilege of reading documents whose preparation we have already paid for.

The Highway Code documents the rules by which all road users must abide. It tells you which things you should not do, and which you may not lawfully do. And, judging by the behaviour of most motorists, the knowledge demonstrated at the driving test is forgotten as swiftly and as completely as is humanly possible.
Roboframer
 

Re: Italics

Postby John » Tue May 25, 2010 8:48 am

My guess is that Word is trying to make sense of the HTML that you pasted, whereas the forum editor does not. If you want to see the hidden italics, pasting into Notepad would be a better bet than pasting into Word.

Possible cures:
  • Try one of the other browsers such as Chrome or Firefox, see if the same problem occurs.
  • What version of IE are you using? (Alt-L, then click "About Internet Explorer") If not already done, upgrade to IE8.

Good Luck!
User avatar
John
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:00 pm
Location: Belfast
Location: Ireland
Organisation: EstLite
Interests: 10

Re: Italics

Postby markw » Tue May 25, 2010 9:13 am

As you are possibly the most prolific poster on the forum it may be that you have just exceeded your italics quota - we all have to suffer cutbacks at the moment.
markw
 

Re: Italics

Postby Roboframer » Tue May 25, 2010 8:30 pm

It's the same in Google Chrome, Firefox IE and AOL - I have IE7 but will upgrade anyway.

I've had a quick look at what come up when I Google 'invisible italics' and others have had the problem - trouble is, with what I've read so far - I don't understand what the frell they are on about regards solving it!
Roboframer
 


Return to Forum Issues



cron

 
Picture Framer's Trade Directory
Picture Framer's Oracle

 
Members Map Header
Members Map
More info
Resources Header
Contact Forum Admin
Directory
How to include an image in your post
Cove Box Designer
Download Designer
General supplies
Glass
Machinery
Mounts/Mountboard
Artists
Conservators
Prints
Software
Tuition
UK Medals
Framers Forum Live!
Support Header
Crimson
White
Green
Violet
Advertise Header
Forum Banner Ads