New Computer for Mat Pro 120

Share your CMC experiences.
Or seek help and advice

New Computer for Mat Pro 120

Postby Keith » Mon Jun 22, 2009 5:40 pm

Hi.

I've just loaded the FMD software into new computer, but when I try to open it up it gives a message NOT CONNECTED TO MACHINE but it is.

The only difference is that I have had to but a USB serial converter to be able to connect to the new computer, the software for this went in ok.
Can't think of anything I've done wrong, anyone had this problem before.

Put old computer back and all is working as normal.

Any help appreciated.

Keith
Keith
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

Loft

Re: New Computer for Mat Pro 120

Postby Merlin » Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:32 pm

Hi Keith
You may need to check and/or set the USB Serial Port.

To identify the COM port setting for the USB. Click START then Control Panel
Click System
Click Hardware Tab then Device Manager

In Device Manager locate the Ports (COM & LPT) line. Click the + next to it

There should be a "USB Serial Port" followed by a COM setting number. Often COM4

NOTE THIS COM PORT SETTING...
FMD program does not support a port setting higher than com4
Close ALL

Open FMD and in the SETTINGS click Configuration and then the Set Up TAB
Click the drop down arrow next to the Existing Serial Port Setting and select the appropriate setting as recorded
from Device Manager.

Click Apply the OK to save the new settings.
Close FMD and then relaunch it..

Hope this helps. If not then give me a PM and I will give you my telephone number.
User avatar
Merlin
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Cornwall
Organisation: Merlin Mounts
Interests: Aviation

Re: New Computer for Mat Pro 120

Postby Jonny2morsos » Mon Jun 22, 2009 11:25 pm

Are you switching on the Valiani first? I have found the same if it is not switched on first and I always close the computer down before switching it off i.e. the reverse procedure.

Apologies if this is what you are doing and I am stating the obvious.

John.
User avatar
Jonny2morsos
 
Posts: 2231
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:28 pm
Location: Market Deeping
Location: Lincs
Organisation: Northborough Framing
Interests: Fly Fishing, Photography and Real Ale.

Re: New Computer for Mat Pro 120

Postby Keith » Tue Jun 23, 2009 1:12 am

Hi John.

Just to let you know that Merlin was correct, but I do also put the machine on first. Only problem now is that it's upset the settings on the machine for some reason, in that the head is not returning to it's correct position, hence cutting at the wrong angle, and not cutting all the way through the board. Even when I reconnected the old computer I still now have the same problems.
I've emailed John (Merlin) and hope he can help me out...... will let you know.

Keith
Keith
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

Re: New Computer for Mat Pro 120

Postby Merlin » Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:17 am

Keith

Two possible problems here. 1. The Config file is corrupted or 2. The Head Sensor is not reading correctly.

On setting up your original computer, a new Config file would have been written with the correct settings by who ever did the installation.

On your new computer the 'Default' Config file would be used. This needs to be updated to your settings.

Can you please PM me your Serial Number and the Version of the Software that you are using.
I will then get an updated Config file for you.
User avatar
Merlin
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Cornwall
Organisation: Merlin Mounts
Interests: Aviation

Re: New Computer for Mat Pro 120 UPDATE

Postby Keith » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:09 pm

Hi All.

Just a quick note to let you know that after a restless night !!! The machine is now up and running again with the new computer installed.

This all thanks to John (Merlin) and Valiani in Italy who between them sorted my predicament out in super quick time.
The forum for me was the first place I thought to go which proved right, and a very grateful thank to John for being so patient with me and sorting it all out.

Regards Keith
Keith
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire


Return to Discussion




 
Picture Framer's Trade Directory
Picture Framer's Oracle

 
Members Map Header
Members Map
More info
Resources Header
Contact Forum Admin
Directory
How to include an image in your post
Cove Box Designer
Download Designer
General supplies
Glass
Machinery
Mounts/Mountboard
Artists
Conservators
Prints
Software
Tuition
UK Medals
Framers Forum Live!
Support Header
Crimson
White
Green
Violet
Advertise Header
Forum Banner Ads