Updated Estlite not responding Help please!

Software related questions, and
suggestions for new features or improvements.

Updated Estlite not responding Help please!

Postby Vix » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:38 pm

Hi

I've just updated my version of estlite to 8.26 and have encountered a bit of a problem.

When I load the program, everything comes up on the screen as it should but I can not access any of the boxes or close the programme down. A message comes up with Estlite.exe not responding.

I'm a bit of a dunce when it comes to technology sometimes so if any one can help it would be much appreciated.

My operating system is windows 7 by the way.

Thanks

Vix
Vix
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:04 pm
Location: Yorkshire

Gunnar Computerised Mountcutters

Re: Updated Estlite not responding Help please!

Postby JohnMcafee » Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:44 pm

Hi Vix, there seems to be an issue with installing the latest version of EstLite on Win7. Diagnosis is difficult as it is running flawlessly on all of our test machines, including one or more of XP, Vista, Win7, and Win8.

Two users have reported a problem on first install, and then, after the computer had been switched off and back on, EstLite ran (and continues to run) without any further issues. However a third user is unable to install in Win7 and has had to revert to a previous version of the program.

I am hoping that you followed the advice given and made a backup before proceeding with the update, so that if all else fails you will be able to do a clean install of a working copy of the program and restore your data from your backup.
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: Updated Estlite not responding Help please!

Postby Vix » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:43 pm

Hi John

Thanks for the info.

I decided to see if a system restore would work - but to no avail.

It worked perfectly well after the initial install, as some users have also seem to have found, but after turning the computer off and then opening the program up the following day this is when the problem seemed to occur.

Fortunately I did back up, a lesson I learnt a long time ago! so it looks like i'll have to re-install and take it from there.

Many thanks for the help though.

Vix.
Vix
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:04 pm
Location: Yorkshire


Return to Questions & Suggestions



  • Advertisement
-

 
Picture Framer's Trade Directory
Picture Framer's Oracle

 
Members Map Header
Members Map
More info
Resources Header
Contact Forum Admin
Directory
How to include an image in your post
Cove Box Designer
Download Designer
General supplies
Glass
Machinery
Mounts/Mountboard
Artists
Conservators
Prints
Software
Tuition
UK Medals
Framers Forum Live!
Support Header
Crimson
White
Green
Violet
Advertise Header
Forum Banner Ads