estlite on two pc

Software related questions, and
suggestions for new features or improvements.

estlite on two pc

Postby michelle » Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:49 pm

I am going to have to run estlite on two computers ( one in our mobile showroom and one in the shop) is it then possible for the information to be combined so I am not running two customer databases ?
thanks
michelle
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:43 am
Location: Linconlshire, England
Location: lincolnshire
Organisation: Blackcab Studio
Interests: Driving my 1965 Bedford Dormobile.

Loft

Re: estlite on two pc

Postby JohnMcafee » Tue Nov 26, 2013 8:27 pm

Data can be shared between two, or more, copies of EstLite when they share a local network. However, while more remote copies of EstLite can be connected over the Internet using a Virtual Private Network (VPN), at today's typical UK internet speeds this method is too slow to be practical.
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: estlite on two pc

Postby Grahame Case » Sun Dec 01, 2013 9:14 am

if you are wanting to go down the VPN route we use "Logmein Hamachi" - for our VPN software. it's quick and easy to set up - although as john says. it can be a bit slow due to the way the UK internet is set up.


i'm currently setting up the VPN at my house so i can log in to Estlite and check some data.


website for Hamachi is

https://secure.logmein.com/products/hamachi/
User avatar
Grahame Case
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:51 pm
Location: Have It Framed, Edinburgh
Location: Edinburgh mostly
Organisation: haveitframed.co.uk
Interests: Framing

Re: estlite on two pc

Postby Grahame Case » Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:00 pm

John McAfee and myself have been testing VPNing estlite today. it's perilously slow!

however, if you want to attempt it i'll post a few getting started tips later today
User avatar
Grahame Case
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:51 pm
Location: Have It Framed, Edinburgh
Location: Edinburgh mostly
Organisation: haveitframed.co.uk
Interests: Framing

Re: estlite on two pc

Postby Grahame Case » Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:58 pm

although now vpning from home is very quick. just testing it tonight - over a distance of about 3 miles.
User avatar
Grahame Case
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:51 pm
Location: Have It Framed, Edinburgh
Location: Edinburgh mostly
Organisation: haveitframed.co.uk
Interests: Framing

Re: estlite on two pc

Postby michelle » Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:31 am

Thanks for this I am just waiting for my parter to get to get some time to look at this ( It't his job to sort out) I am sure we will then have more questions. Thanks for the help so far, syncing will save so much hassle.
michelle
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:43 am
Location: Linconlshire, England
Location: lincolnshire
Organisation: Blackcab Studio
Interests: Driving my 1965 Bedford Dormobile.


Return to Questions & Suggestions




 
Picture Framer's Trade Directory
Picture Framer's Oracle

 
Members Map Header
Members Map
More info
Resources Header
Contact Forum Admin
Directory
How to include an image in your post
Cove Box Designer
Download Designer
General supplies
Glass
Machinery
Mounts/Mountboard
Artists
Conservators
Prints
Software
Tuition
UK Medals
Framers Forum Live!
Support Header
Crimson
White
Green
Violet
Advertise Header
Forum Banner Ads