Transfering PreView to new Computer

Software related questions, and
suggestions for new features or improvements.

Transfering PreView to new Computer

Postby Keith » Sat Nov 15, 2014 8:09 pm

Hi

I have already transferred EstLite to a new computer but I'm not sure of the procedure to get PreView across.
It may be looking me in the face but I'm drawing a blank

Could someone explain how to do this please

Thanks Keith
Keith
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

Lion Pictureframing Sipplies

Re: Transfering PreView to new Computer

Postby JohnMcafee » Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:03 pm

What are the operating systems of your old and new computers?
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: Transfering PreView to new Computer

Postby Keith » Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:07 am

Hi John

Thanks for getting back to me

XP is the old and windows 7 is the new one
Keith
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

Re: Transfering PreView to new Computer

Postby JohnMcafee » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:25 am

The Pre-View part is fairly straightforward, just download and install from the website http://www.pre-view.biz. Then, to transfer your old data and settings, copy the contents of C:\Program Files\Pre-View\ on the XP to C:\ProgramData\Pre-View\ folder on your Win7. (If the ProgramData folder is hidden see here)

The drivers on the Canon driver disk supplied with the camera are pre-Win7 and need tobe updated:
Download (but do not run) the latest Canon Zoombrowser software that you will find here.

Uninstall the Canon software that you may already have on your PC and reinstall from the file download from the Canon Site - the Canon driver CD will have to be in the drive though.

Run PV in XP compatibility mode, also run PV as administrator.
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: Transfering PreView to new Computer

Postby maguirei » Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:59 pm

We also found that to make Preview work in Windows 7 we had to "disable desktop composition". If you right click on the preview icon on the desktop and then click on properties and then compatibility, you will see it as an option there! Without this we found it ran very slowly and then ground to a halt! With it the screen is simplified when you run preview and goes back to normal when you close it down. The screen doesn't actually look much different.
Hope this makes sense.
maguirei
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:25 pm
Location: County Durham
Organisation: SGF
Interests: Music Music Music


Return to Questions & Suggestions




 
Picture Framer's Trade Directory
Picture Framer's Oracle

 
Members Map Header
Members Map
More info
Resources Header
Contact Forum Admin
Directory
How to include an image in your post
Cove Box Designer
Download Designer
General supplies
Glass
Machinery
Mounts/Mountboard
Artists
Conservators
Prints
Software
Tuition
UK Medals
Framers Forum Live!
Support Header
Crimson
White
Green
Violet
Advertise Header
Forum Banner Ads