Transfering PreView to new Computer

Software related questions, and
suggestions for new features or improvements.
Post Reply
Keith
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed 20 Jul, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

Transfering PreView to new Computer

Post by Keith » Sat 15 Nov, 2014 8:09 pm

Hi

I have already transferred EstLite to a new computer but I'm not sure of the procedure to get PreView across.
It may be looking me in the face but I'm drawing a blank

Could someone explain how to do this please

Thanks Keith

User avatar
JohnMcafee
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun 10 Oct, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights
Location: Belfast
Contact:

Re: Transfering PreView to new Computer

Post by JohnMcafee » Sun 16 Nov, 2014 5:03 pm

What are the operating systems of your old and new computers?
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)

Keith
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed 20 Jul, 2005 1:19 am
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

Re: Transfering PreView to new Computer

Post by Keith » Mon 17 Nov, 2014 12:07 am

Hi John

Thanks for getting back to me

XP is the old and windows 7 is the new one

User avatar
JohnMcafee
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun 10 Oct, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights
Location: Belfast
Contact:

Re: Transfering PreView to new Computer

Post by JohnMcafee » Mon 17 Nov, 2014 9:25 am

The Pre-View part is fairly straightforward, just download and install from the website http://www.pre-view.biz. Then, to transfer your old data and settings, copy the contents of C:\Program Files\Pre-View\ on the XP to C:\ProgramData\Pre-View\ folder on your Win7. (If the ProgramData folder is hidden see here)

The drivers on the Canon driver disk supplied with the camera are pre-Win7 and need tobe updated:
Download (but do not run) the latest Canon Zoombrowser software that you will find here.

Uninstall the Canon software that you may already have on your PC and reinstall from the file download from the Canon Site - the Canon driver CD will have to be in the drive though.

Run PV in XP compatibility mode, also run PV as administrator.
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)

maguirei
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 29 Mar, 2012 4:25 pm
Location: County Durham
Organisation: SGF
Interests: Music Music Music

Re: Transfering PreView to new Computer

Post by maguirei » Wed 18 Mar, 2015 3:59 pm

We also found that to make Preview work in Windows 7 we had to "disable desktop composition". If you right click on the preview icon on the desktop and then click on properties and then compatibility, you will see it as an option there! Without this we found it ran very slowly and then ground to a halt! With it the screen is simplified when you run preview and goes back to normal when you close it down. The screen doesn't actually look much different.
Hope this makes sense.

Post Reply