Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Software related questions, and
suggestions for new features or improvements.

Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby Bagpuss » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:03 pm

I don't know if it's a coincidence but after I moved to version 8.20 (I think), when i tried to change colour in the Highlight drop down (right click) , it didn't work any more ? just when I had started to use Highlighting in anger :( It might be unrelated but I don't seem to be able to change colour and name of a Highlight any more, any suggestions ?

Adam/Bagpuss
My real name is Adam Laver aka "Adam The Picture Framer", just in case you were unsure ; )
User avatar
Bagpuss
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: Upminster, ESSEX, UK
Organisation: Adam The Picture Framer
Interests: TBA

EstLite Frame Pricing Software

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby JohnMcafee » Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:48 am

On our own various test set-ups, highlights appear to be working normally in 8.20.

Have you enabled Highlights (Options/Data/Use Highlights...)?

Where have you positioned the mouse pointer when you Right-Click? You need to have the highlight selected in the drop-down box and the box closed before right-clicking on it.
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby Bagpuss » Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:59 pm

Thanks John, as far as I can tell, everything is as it should be, tick box ticked. Tomorrow I'll try and load up a 20 sec video I've taken of what I was trying to do.
regards,
Adam/Bagpuss
My real name is Adam Laver aka "Adam The Picture Framer", just in case you were unsure ; )
User avatar
Bagpuss
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: Upminster, ESSEX, UK
Organisation: Adam The Picture Framer
Interests: TBA

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby JohnMcafee » Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:52 am

Hi Adam,
Is this problem still on-going, or has it been resolved?
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby Bagpuss » Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:22 pm

Hi John, it's not causing me that much trouble really but it seems to be an intermittent problem strangely, it works for some colours OK but then not for others, which doesn't make a lot of sense I know. I'll have another look at it and see if I can be more specific.
Thanks,
Adam
My real name is Adam Laver aka "Adam The Picture Framer", just in case you were unsure ; )
User avatar
Bagpuss
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: Upminster, ESSEX, UK
Organisation: Adam The Picture Framer
Interests: TBA

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby IFGL » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:04 pm

I had a problem recently with mount boards colours not displaying on a different software program, if was resolved after windows updates and gpu drivers were done, the same thing happened on two separate machines and the software developer had no idea why.
IFGL
 
Posts: 3044
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:27 pm
Location: Sheffield
Location: Sheffield UK
Organisation: Inframe Gallery Ltd
Interests: Films ,music and art, my wife and kids are pretty cool too.

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby Bagpuss » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:32 pm

Hi John,
this morning, I have updated to EstLite version 8.34 and am still getting this problem, the strange thing is I get the pop up to change the Highlight on certain colours but not on others. please see short video clip on Youtube, I hope that makes it clear. Is there a work around on this for me to rename one of the existing Highlights ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vpG_vK-mBL0

Thanks in advance,
Adam/Bagpuss
My real name is Adam Laver aka "Adam The Picture Framer", just in case you were unsure ; )
User avatar
Bagpuss
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: Upminster, ESSEX, UK
Organisation: Adam The Picture Framer
Interests: TBA

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby JohnMcafee » Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:16 pm

I like the video, Adam.

When you use the Edit Highlight dialog box to actually edit the highlight, does the same thing happen?

When you close the Edit Highlight dialog box without editing the highlight, are you using OK, Cancel, or the Escape key on the keyboard?

After closing and reopening the History window, can you again right-click to bring up the Edit Highlight dialog box?
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby Bagpuss » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:41 pm

Hi John,
below is a snapshot of my drop down highlights.
highlight_menu.jpg
highlight_menu.jpg (16.21 KiB) Viewed 9326 times


I went through the top 8 highlights "GLAZED" to "FINISHED", the only 2 that I cannot edit are "Chop" and "Awaiting chop order" at the bottom of the drop down.
I'm not sure that helps you, let me know if I can do anything else.
Thanks
Adam
My real name is Adam Laver aka "Adam The Picture Framer", just in case you were unsure ; )
User avatar
Bagpuss
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: Upminster, ESSEX, UK
Organisation: Adam The Picture Framer
Interests: TBA

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby JohnMcafee » Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:39 am

The highlights [Chop] and [Awaiting Chop Order] have a special significance and are reserved by EstLite.
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: Highlighting problem in version 8.20 ?

Postby Bagpuss » Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:59 am

Were "chop" and "awaiting chop" already in there John ? I assumed that was me that input them, so I have reached my limit in the array then ? That would explain it.
Thanks for clearing that up.
Adam/Bagpuss
My real name is Adam Laver aka "Adam The Picture Framer", just in case you were unsure ; )
User avatar
Bagpuss
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: Upminster, ESSEX, UK
Organisation: Adam The Picture Framer
Interests: TBA


Return to Questions & Suggestions




 
Picture Framer's Trade Directory
Picture Framer's Oracle

 
Members Map Header
Members Map
More info
Resources Header
Contact Forum Admin
Directory
How to include an image in your post
Cove Box Designer
Download Designer
General supplies
Glass
Machinery
Mounts/Mountboard
Artists
Conservators
Prints
Software
Tuition
UK Medals
Framers Forum Live!
Support Header
Crimson
White
Green
Violet
Advertise Header
Forum Banner Ads