Help needed to frame wedding shoes

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
Dobbo
Organisation: MTD Concepts
Interests: Framing, art collecting

Help needed to frame wedding shoes

Post by Dobbo »

I am quite new to framing but fancy a challenge and would like to frame my wife's wedding shoes for our anniversary.

My main issue is how to fix the shoes to the mount so they stay in place. Does anyone have any examples of this and can offer any guidance? Any help would be much appreciated as I cannot find anything online that helps.
kartoffelngeist
Organisation: Rosie's Framers and Crafts
Interests: Framing, mental health, martial arts

Re: Help needed to frame wedding shoes

Post by kartoffelngeist »

Someone once suggested two neodymium magnets, one in the shoe the other behind the mount board. Seemed an elegant solution to me. I believe there was also some discussion over how well it would withstand an EMP attack...

Failing that, if they're fairly lightweight, I would probably hold them in place with a few loops of thread to closely match the colour. If I could get away with it, cable ties would be even easier. If she's never going to want to take them out of the frame I would be considering the glue gun, but that's not generally good practice.

Can expand on any of those if needed.
Thanks,

andrew
"The only way of discovering the limits of the possible is to venture a little way past them in to the impossible."
Etsy
Facebook
Twitter

Jamesnkr

Post by Jamesnkr »

kartoffelngeist wrote:I believe there was also some discussion over how well it would withstand an EMP attack...
On the grounds that 90% of the population of the US would be dead within twelve months of such an attack on the US, I doubt your wife's wedding shoes would be much of a worry. http://uk.businessinsider.com/north-kor ... ?r=US&IR=T
kartoffelngeist
Organisation: Rosie's Framers and Crafts
Interests: Framing, mental health, martial arts

Post by kartoffelngeist »