Reasonable Price?

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
Frida
Organisation: FridasFramery
Interests: Framing!

Reasonable Price?

Post by Frida »

Hello all,

I'm just starting out on my own, I've got my workshop space sorted and now looking to buy my first few bits second hand...

I wondered if you could help, on ebay there is a Morso 'F' Mitre Guillotine, (R Hand Extension, Spare Blades)
and a Cassese CS79 Underpinner. He said he would take £1000 for them both. They seem to be in good condition.

Is this too much? I have been comparing with similar and am also unsure about the Casesse CS79 as have been used to using a CS-88, is it just as good?

Would appreciate any opinions on this,

Thanks!
prospero

Re: Reasonable Price?

Post by prospero »

Hi and Welcome Frida. :D

The price seems fair to me. Assuming both are in good nick and working condition.

You could always offer 850 and see if he will come down a bit. :roll:

Never used a CS79. It's the bog std Cassesse starter model I believe. Cassesse is a good brand though.
Watch Out. There's A Humphrey About
Jamesnkr

Post by Jamesnkr »

On eBay a fair price for a Morso like that is probably £600-£900, the underpinner is about £200-250 (I've no idea how good they are).

Note though, the Morso lacks a left-hand arm extension that will cost you £124 plus VAT from Lion. You need one of these; they get lost as they're not green and look as though they don't belong to the Morso. You (probably) won't find one second hand and at that price I'd be asking him for a considerable contribution to it; he might not be prepared to.

https://www.lionpic.co.uk/p/7776/Morso- ... port-Table
prospero

Post by prospero »

I've managed for 33 years without a left hand extension. :P I'd sooner have a automatic rebate support kit.

http://www.morso-guillotines.dk/product ... ebate.html
Jamesnkr

Post by Jamesnkr »