Hoffman Dovetail Router vs Cassese Underpinner

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
Justintime
Organisation: George The Framer LLP
Interests: Gardening, design, electronic music, good food and beverages.

Hoffman Dovetail Router vs Cassese Underpinner

Post by Justintime »

Hi All,
Just looking for some advice.
I've been framing for about 9 months now, working a lot with hand finished frames, Tulip, Ash and Oak.
I am wondering whether I would be better off swapping my Cassese CS1 for a Hoffman dovetail router. As I was warned, the Ash and Oak are tricky to underpin, stacking wedges is not a reliable method. Although the steel clamp I recently bought from Mike Royall has saved me on a number of occasions, its not ideal...
Is there anyone who has replaced one with the other? Got rid of the underpinner altogether??
The only downside I can see, is that my relatively dust free framing studio will now have a source of wood dust...
Justin
Justin George GCF(APF)
Insta: georgetheframer
prospero

Re: Hoffman Dovetail Router vs Cassese Underpinner

Post by prospero »

The dovetail router is nice piece of kit. It really comes into its own when joining deep, narrow mouldings.

For joining profiles that need a stack of v-nails I tend to just use a single shallow one and then cross-nail near to
the top. A mitre vice is handy in these situations. OK, you have some nail holes to fill, but I don't find this a problem
and the filled holes are not obvious in most cases. If you are finishing the frame after joining, even better.
The big advantage is that all you need is a hammer, drill and centre punch.
Watch Out. There's A Humphrey About
Framemaker Richard
Organisation: framemaker
Interests: Antique frames

Post by Framemaker Richard »