Framing a delicate painted leaf

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
Doodles
Organisation: The Animal Art Gallery
Interests: Dog walking, reading, Art galleries

Framing a delicate painted leaf

Post by Doodles »

Evening all
I am quite new to framing and in the short time I have been doing this as a business I have had some challenging requests! I am hoping you will be able to give me some advice. My latest request is framing a really delicate painted leaf! I am wondering what the best way to attach this to mountboard please?
Any ideas or advice on how you would tackle this would be gratefully received. The customer wants to replicate an existing framed leaf he already has, the leaf is attached to what looks like a piece of black mountboard and I am using a slip inside the mount.
Thanks in advance
Rachel
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Re: Framing a delicate painted leaf

Post by Not your average framer »

Hopefully the leaf has not so far been attached to anything and the stem, or stalk to the leaf is still attached. The stem will be the obvious part of the leaf to attach with a couple of narrow mylar straps. Two separate narrow straps will be less visible, than one wider one. You will need to find some other locations on the leaf to restrain the leaf without making it particularly visible, or not letting the effect look un-natural.

Mylar straps can be too easily visible at times and sometimes something very thin and thread like can be a lot less visible on the main part of the leaf, so consider something like cobweb thread. You need to pick places across the leaf where the thread will not lift away from the leaf too much and cast a shadow.