Mount Boarder Sag/Gap

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
jonbon
Organisation: Jon's Frames
Interests: Framing/Painting

Mount Boarder Sag/Gap

Post by jonbon »

Hi,

I am relatively new to framing and have incurred an issue with a large frame that I made. Fortunately it is only for my brother so it isn't a 'real' client and I am able to solve the issue with no pressure.

The frame is about 1000mm x 700mm and it's been on his wall for about two months now, but there is a gap that has formed at the top and bottom of the picture where it meets the mount. The border is about 50/60mm, backing board 2mm and moulding 33mm x 25mm approx.

Could this issue be due to the backing board not being flush enough up to the back of the picture and mount? Or could it be something to do with the tension from where it has been hung? Or something else? I used X2 regular T-Hinges, X3 at most to memory as it was weighty paper.
And I use 'Hang-its' from Lion as opposed to D-Rings as i thought they look neater. I wonder if this causes unnecessary stress on everything inside the moulding.

Any pointers would be much appreciated
Thank you
Jonbon
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Re: Mount Boarder Sag/Gap

Post by Not your average framer »

If there is any unnecessary stress on the backing board you may well get some clues by looking at thr backing tape for any distortion, or rippling where the tape straddles the gap between the frame and the backing board. You may just be unfortunate with this particular framing job, but here's a few things to consider just in case.