New to framing - Corner gap, maybe underpinner

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
BrianTJ
Organisation: Framing People
Interests: Framing

New to framing - Corner gap, maybe underpinner

Post by BrianTJ »

Hi,
I am brand new to the framing world, and had a sure belief that there should not be many problems in a 90 degree joint. however, I have had some issues that I think stem from my underpinnings. The corners of the frame can be assembled perfectly on a table, but when I put a clip in, I see a small gap, the same length as the clip is, if I slide the clip in from the front of the frame, then the problem is moved to the front of the frame , and therefore I do not think it is due to the cut of the frame.
as I said, I am brand new to this world and all the help, tips and anything else I can get will be greatly appreciated.

my underpinner is an AMP U-400. I use the original "power twist" clips, I have "soft" and "medium" clips, and I have generally only done tests with soft, since my frames are soft, I have 6,5 bar into the machine, from the compressor system, and I have set the machine to anything between 2 and 6,5 bar during different tests, but I did not think there are any regularities in the joints. my current frame size is 15mm wide and 20-25mm high.

thanks in advance.
from a new frame maker.
Attachments
backside of frame
backside of frame
cut before underpinning
cut before underpinning
Some tests
Some tests
The Hammer - should it come this far up?
The Hammer - should it come this far up?
Gesso&Bole
Organisation: Jeremy Anderson Picture Frame Maker
Interests: Framing pictures, testing out the latest gismos, and sharing picture framing knowledge

Re: New to framing - Corner gap, maybe underpinner

Post by Gesso&Bole »

Morning Brian, and welcome to the Forum.

Have you tried putting just 1 wedge in each corner?