Wings on an underpinner?

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
gavinr
Organisation: Dust & Ink
Interests: screenprinting

Wings on an underpinner?

Post by gavinr »

I’m just starting out on my framing journey and am spending my days learning to make frames and as I venture into larger ones I’m beginning to wonder if I need to buy, or make, some wings for the minigraff 44 that I have?

Does anyone have any views on them, are they worth the money?

I’ve got a large frame to make for myself next week and I can’t see that I’m going to be able to handle the moulding on my own, what do people do in this scenario… rope in an extra pair of hands, use some form of support (I have a roller support I could try) or do I need wings?
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Re: Wings on an underpinner?

Post by Not your average framer »

I have a bench which is the same height as my under pinner. As i can probably imagine a bench extends further that the support that a pair of wings will probaly do so. Added to that, having the underpinner standing against the edge of the bench usually saves precious workshop space. I like my bench to be that Height so that I can side full sheets of mount board in to vertical slots under the bench. This is the way, which I have always done it, for about 20 years and it makes life quite easy for me!
Mark Lacey

“Life is short. Art long. Opportunity is fleeting. Experience treacherous. Judgement difficult.”
― Geoffrey Chaucer
Rainbow
Organisation: Picture sales and framing
Interests: varied

Post by Rainbow »

The solution might depend on knowing how large is large, and what's the largest frame you're likely to make.
Not your average framer
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day