large painting

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
countrystudio
Organisation: Bristol
Interests: framing

large painting

Post by countrystudio »

I have been asked to frame a painting on heavy(ish) weight (+300gsm) paper. The painting is of flowers and the artist has used flakes of old paint and stuck these flakes onto the painting to resemble pollen. She has also finished the petals using powder and chalk set with fixative spray)
The painting has been loosly rolled and needs flattening. The curl is slight and may even straighten itself if hung up for a while (I think/hope)
Size of the artwork is 1480mm x 880mm. (did not make a typing mistake)
Glass ? If so what thickness
Perspex? If so what thickness
How do I flatten such a big picture?
Can't go through a cold laminator - will crush the bits and I don't know of a hot process machine big enough.
By the way the painting must have a 60mm mount around it as well.
As I am new to framing I need all the help I can get on this one please.
Thank you
Heather
JFeig
Organisation: minoxy, LLC
Interests: non-fiction knowledge

Re: large painting

Post by JFeig »

Sometimes "artists" are their own worst enemies.

300 gm/m paper even with a slight curl from loose rolling is a no win to become flat again. I would use 6mm acrylic for glazing.
Jerome Feig CPF®
http://www.minoxy.com
Jonny2morsos
Organisation: Northborough Framing
Interests: Fly Fishing, Photography and Real Ale.

Post by Jonny2morsos »

Think one of these is needed:
magic-wand[1].png
magic-wand[1].png (21.18 KiB) Viewed 5064 times
countrystudio
Organisation: Bristol
Interests: framing

Post by countrystudio »

My grateful thanks to Mitreman who spent a lot of time talking through my options.
Learnt a lot from speaking to him.
I have given the artwork back to the artist to re-stretch the paper with strict instructions to keep it flat..
Having gained valuable advice I feel reassured about this job.