Hello from East Lothian

Say hello, and tell us a little about yourself.
Orde02
Organisation: Northwood Framing
Interests: Painting, flying, cycling

Hello from East Lothian

Post by Orde02 »

Hello all.
I've been stalking this board for a few months and have finally joined in.
I'm an oil painter from just outside Edinburgh and I'd love to be able to frame my own paintings. I work on a fairly small scale, 8x10 inches on average so the frames I use are quite small.
What I'd really like to learn is how to hand finish frames, classic black with silver gilding (or similar) on the lip. I like the slightly distressed look where you can see a red undercolour showing through the top layer. I've trawled through the internet hoping to find out how to create this finish and have found a few bits of information here and there. As I understand, the red colour is bole but what do you use as the top layer, black bole? Acrylic paint? Are years of experience needed for this technique or could a beginner create something similar with a bit of practice? Are there modern alternatives to using rabbit skin glue?

All any help or advice would be most appreciated.

Regards

Matt
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Re: Hello from East Lothian

Post by Not your average framer »

Hello Matt and welcome to the forum,

I am assuming, from what you have said so far that I are probably thinking of a framing set up, that would be less than the set up required to be a fully professional framer. Obviously there are trade off's with a lower budget set up, but at least you get to choose what those trade off's willbe. I got started with a Nobex Proman 110 manual mitre saw, a Lion simple underpinner and a secondhand mountcutter. It did not cost too much money and the results were of a good standard.