Hi!

Say hello, and tell us a little about yourself.
bang
Organisation: Barry Allan Scott Fine Art
Interests: Drawing, painting, sculpture, hiking, camping, kayaking.

Hi!

Post by bang »

Hi, everyone!

A wee bit of backstory to how I ended up here. ;)

When I was a young art student I used to frame up some of my life drawings with a silverline mitre saw, hand cut the mitres with a wobbly stanley knife and fix them up with a few bits and bobs; I'd take them to a wine shop in Edinburgh where they'd display them. I managed to make some of my beer money out of that and it kept me going.

After art school I got a wee job that only lasted a couple of weeks. I was taken on by a gallery to frame prints and things, but they didn't have time to train me because they were massively busy. I was a bit of a disaster. At home I could take time to get things right, and I never worked in a high volume environment like that before. At least I got to see how things are done, however! They let me go after my trial period and took up a joiner for the job instead.

Fast forward 20-odd years and I've managed to get a studio to make my artwork in. I take commissions and run art workshops, but due to covid I've been left looking for other income streams that could help to keep me afloat- if only to make the studio pay for itself... otherwise I work as a carer and also look in on a couple of relatives who need a bit of help now and then.

So I bit the bullet, and from some inheritance money I got from my grandad when he passed away, I bought a second hand morso, Fletcher mount cutter and alfamachine u200 underpinner. I'm saving up money from commissions to buy other stuff I need now.