Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
Rainbow
Organisation: Picture sales and framing
Interests: varied

How reflective is anti-reflective

Post by Rainbow »

I've just framed a job with Artglass AR UV99 which claims "Less than 1% light reflection". Although the reflection is muted, there is definitely still quite a lot of reflection. I'm quite surprised at this as I would have expected the reflection to be barely noticeable. It makes me wonder about the "99% UV protection" claim, which was an important factor for my customer.

I'm not experienced with anti-reflection UV-filtering glass so can anyone tell me if this level of reflection is to be expected, or have I got a defective batch?
Framie
Organisation: Anything Framed
Interests: Custom Framing, Hand Finishes and Multi Aperture Mounts.

Re: How reflective is anti-reflective

Post by Framie »

In the right light/placement it should be invisible but if you have a light source opposite ie a window you will still see the reflection.
Anything Framed
Rainbow
Organisation: Picture sales and framing
Interests: varied

Post by Rainbow »

Thanks, Framie, and yes it was opposite a window when I noticed the reflection. I'd dropped it off to the customer, and thinking I would show him how fantastic the glass was compared with standard glass, I held it up to some other pictures he had on the wall - big mistake, huge! It's good that I can let him know the reason for the reflection, I'm very grateful for your explanation.
pramsay13
Organisation: Picture Framer (ML)
Interests: picture framing (no, really!) sport, music

Post by pramsay13 »

I find that if you look for the reflection you will find it, but otherwise it's almost impossible to see.