PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
Whitewallframers
Organisation: The White wall gallery and framers
Interests: Collecting memorabilia and framing

Looking to take on extra help

Post by Whitewallframers »

Hi Guys,
we took over a small family run framing business in Bolton last year and fortunately we are nearly 3 times busier than the shop has ever been.
My problem is its becoming a struggle to keep up with the workload and to try and see my young children grow also.

Ive been told to look at employing somebody for the extra help and also just to relieve me of some pressure. Although im fairly new to the industry im young enough and determined to make a long and happy life from framing.

Do any of you more experienced framers have any tips or advice regarding taking on staff? for example part time or full time or even apprentices?
My main problem would be the size of my shop, its quite small and can get quite cosy at the best of times.

Many thanks Matt
Jamesnkr

Re: Looking to take on extra help

Post by Jamesnkr »

1. Put your prices up. That should increase your profit and reduce the workload.

2. Is the extra work that this person does going to take your turnover above the VAT threshold of £85,000? Don't forget that above this level you are effectively paying an extra 17% tax on your profits.

3. Get your accountant to deal with PAYE. Don't forget you will need provision for pensions too.
poliopete
Organisation: Annie Lou Fine Framing
Interests: Caring for my wife, Picture Framing and Natural History

Post by poliopete »

Hi Matt

I faced the same problem many years ago. Work load increasing and time available to spend with the children decreasing. :(

We decided to do two things firstly, as James suggests, increase prices to increase profitability and lesson the work load. Secondly, take on a part time worker. :)