PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
artframer
Organisation: None yet
Interests: Learning all about framing

Terminology: liner

Post by artframer »

Hi.

Reading-up on this forum is fantastic. Such a wealth of experience and expertise. My only problem is that I'm still learning the lingo and like any industry, framing has its own.

I've just learned for example: that frames are 'stacked' when more than one moulding is put together to look like one; that v-nails are also called wedges... it explained why my searches weren't finding them on some suppliers websites and that points are also pins.

What I'm curious about at the moment (and there doesn't seem to be a part of this forum for terminology) is the word 'liner'. I've encountered it twice so far, in the phrases: 1) "canvas-wrapped liners" and 2) "a frame with a wide liner". What are these and are they the same thing? I think from what I've read it's different to lining a frame where you tape the inside edge... ( :roll: not 100% sure I'm right lining a frame is that).

Thanks in advance to any kind soul willing to shine a light.
Rainbow
Organisation: Picture sales and framing
Interests: varied

Re: Terminology: liner

Post by Rainbow »

I'll leave it to an expert to define "liner" but if you're in the dark about any other terminology, you might find an explanation in The Framing Oracle. See the box near the top of the left hand column of this forum - if you click the box, it will take you to some good resources including a Terminology section.
artframer

Post by artframer »

Thanks Rainbow. I'd assumed the graphic "The framing oracle" was the header for the items listed below it, for some reason :Slap:
prospero

Post by prospero »

OK. Liners. These are mouldings that typically go between a frame and a painting done on a canvas or only substrate
(usually one that has no glass). From an aesthetic point of view it provides a visual step between the art and frame, much