PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
Zorro
Organisation: MB Framing
Interests: Music Films Art

Keencut System 4000

Post by Zorro »

Hello
Is it really the end of the line for the Keencut System 4000?
I know that the issue is not a new one but it seems impossible now to find spare glass cutting wheel anymore. I have been using it for 10 years now with no problem at all. I do not have space for a bench in my workshop and I'm not ready to upgrade to the Excalibur 5000.
Does anyone manage to find any recently?
jaybee173
Organisation: JFT
Interests: framing

Re: Keencut System 4000

Post by jaybee173 »

I think it might be this one ? https://www.lionpic.co.uk/p/8127/Keencu ... und-Holder

Regards

J
Zorro

Post by Zorro »

No, it is the white one unfortunately.
Thank you.
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Post by Not your average framer »

I understood that it was the white one used on the earlier System 4000 cutters that Keencut had stopped supplying. However you can obtain it directly from a supplier in Southampton, so it's not really a problem. I'm a big fan of the Keencut System 4000, had one from about 2001 till about a years ago, when I switched to a Fletcher Terry 3100. The Keencut Sytsem 4000 is built like a tank and virtually indestructable. Usually a nice bit of kit for not a lot of money and a good buy for anyone, who can handle a little bit of routine mechanical maintenace themselves once in a while.
Mark Lacey

“Life is short. Art long. Opportunity is fleeting. Experience treacherous. Judgement difficult.”
― Geoffrey Chaucer
Zorro

Post by Zorro »

Thank you Mark. Is the Fletcher Terry a better buy?
Not your average framer
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day