Copyright

Financial, legal, advertising, pricing, marketing, accountancy, bookkeeping, employment, taxation, etc.
spoks
Organisation: Photo Frame
Interests: Photography

Copyright

Post by spoks »

Hi

I am a photographer at heart. Just starting up selling my own framed prints. However, I would like to frame other prints but need further advice about copyright. I have already had an offer of a talk with a local framer but would like to get as much information as I can on the subject. My queries are as follows

Can I purchase prints from an online wholesaler and frame them for re-sale
Can I purchase second hand prints from an antique shop, market or private seller, frame them and re-selling.
Can I purchase of prints from museums and other institutions, (For example the National Railway Museum or the London Transport Museum) frame them for re-sale
Can I overlay my own images onto an original page from a dictionary dated 1950 and selling the framed print.

Any advice gratefully received. Thanks.
Kwik Picture Framing
Organisation: Kwik Picture Framing
Interests: Picture framing
Making just that little bit of difference to someone, somewhere.

Re: Copyright

Post by Kwik Picture Framing »

You can do all that no problem
spoks
Organisation: Photo Frame
Interests: Photography

Post by spoks »

Thanks for the advice - very helpful
stcstc

Post by stcstc »

i am not sure its that simple if you take someone elses image and manipulate, ie add yours over
Graysalchemy

Post by Graysalchemy »

I agree, someone will own the copyright on the book and its text even if it is only a dictionary.
prospero

Post by prospero »

Yes, copyright is a complex area. Having said that, the chances of someone from the company who published the dictionary in 1950 spotting your modifications and getting their feathers ruffled are best described as 'slim'. And if they did, the chance of them bringing a successful legal action against you are even slimmer.

Doesn't make it right though. :roll: