Close gallery and use as a framing showroom?

Financial, legal, advertising, pricing, marketing, accountancy, bookkeeping, employment, taxation, etc.
BlueSkyArt
Organisation: Blue Sky Framing Ltd.
Interests: Running, travelling, running, furniture making, running.

Close gallery and use as a framing showroom?

Post by BlueSkyArt »

Hi everyone, I haven't been a big contributing member on this forum but I have learnt an awful lot of framing techniques and business ideas for my business so thank you all for that. Sorry about the essay but please bear with me.
I have a dilemma which I would appreciate some advice on. I've been framing since I left school 8 years ago and 4 years ago I took over a run down shop on the high street which was already a gallery and framers. We have put a lot of work into the business and now my wife and I work together full time, the the gallery looks lovely and we get a lot of good feed back about how nice the artwork is and our range of stock and our entire business turns over more than 4x what the previous owner did.
The shop is split into 3 sections, gallery at the front about 4m2, a smaller middle room where we deal with framing customers and have our displays and then our workshop which is about 1/2 the size of the premises. When dealing with customers we spend a lot of time in the middle room which is quite small and dark with no natural light and not very good when someone has a bigger item to frame due to the space constraints.