Pricing Pricing Pricing, I'm going Insane!!!!

Financial, legal, advertising, pricing, marketing, accountancy, bookkeeping, employment, taxation, etc.
Johnny9
Organisation: Pembrokeshire
Interests: Ha Ha Ha

Pricing Pricing Pricing, I'm going Insane!!!!

Post by Johnny9 »

Guys,

as a fairly new newbie, I have asked many sometimes stupid sounding questions, but received many helpful answers from you guys, so here seems one of the big problems facing framers, How Much to Charge???

I have read through most of the previous questions & answers from new & old framers about how they price, but still it leaves me confused, I met John at the Spring fair recently & he showed me his Estlite software, which seemed really clever, but maybe a bit complicated for me.... :?
So I have decided that I may want to price for my time/labour, rather than 3 times the cost of the materials, so here is my problem, how much is my time/labour worth????

This is how I would charge for a frame regardless of size.... (guessing actual prices of materials, but it gives an idea of cost of materials).

Examples...

Cost of Moulding used including waste £15
Cost of Mount board used £2.00
Cost of Glass used £3.00
Cost of Artbak used £1.50
Fixing/sundries £1.00

Materials Total £22.50

How much would you charge?

Cost of Moulding used including waste £30
Cost of Mount board used £4.00
Cost of Glass used £5.00
Fixing/sundries £1.00

Materials Total £41.50

How much would you charge?

Or would you charge the cost of the materials used & then a set cost for each size frame....

Example

7 x 5 =

10 x 12 =

16 x 16 =

24 x 24 =

36 x 36 =

How much guys, just for your time to contruct these frames, the add cost of materials....

As you can see by this badly constructed message, I really don't have a clue, I've only up till now framed for home, friend & family, and yes I've not charged them much, but now I have orders coming in & want to make a profit, but not scare away customers....