Copyright concerns

Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
YPF
Organisation: Your Picture Framer
Interests: Dog agility with my 2 cocker cross spaniels and a bit of woodturning. Recently taken up the ukulele!

Copyright concerns

Post by YPF »

Whilst I have been framing intermittantly for nearly 10 years I have only recently taken the decision to set-up a framing business with the aim of that business being my main income. As a result I spend time dreaming of things to frame that may lead to an impromtu sale, we have available to us the ability to embroider a range of Disney characters.

If we frame and sell these for a profit on both the frame and embroidery then I suspect we would be infringing copyright, if, however, we donate the embroidery within the frame would we still be infringing copyright? I still ask the question after reading a couple of other copyright threads.

Morally I know it probably shouldn't be done but I welcome your thoughts.

Steve
Steve
Chief Coffee Drinker
http://www.yourpictureframer.co.uk
Roboframer

Re: Copyright concerns

Post by Roboframer »

If you've bought a Disney X stitch kit or chart then there's no problem.

If however you've scanned something and made your own X stitch chart from it then I'd say that's a no-no.

Not sure about the donation bit - why would the customer be buying? For the image, and I suspect the copyright-enforcement-type people have that one covered.
YPF
Interests: Dog agility with my 2 cocker cross spaniels and a bit of woodturning. Recently taken up the ukulele!

Post by YPF »

Thanks for the prompt response. We have bought (from a reputable source) memory card with Disney images to use with an embroidery machine, I could try to find the paperwork that came with it to see if there is a "not for profit or commercial use" type statement associated with its use.

Steve
Steve
Chief Coffee Drinker
Roboframer

Post by Roboframer »