Newbie saying Hello and asking for advice!

Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
Pharos Framing

Newbie saying Hello and asking for advice!

Post by Pharos Framing »

Having lurked in the forum for a couple of months I have finally registered...so hello to everyone. I have found the forum to be of great help so far and hope the framing veterans here will allow me some leeway when I, no doubt, ask seemingly stupid questions!

Well, I am new to framing having attended a course last November. Initially I am framing for myself and for friends and family, but am looking to maybe build up a small business in my spare time. I am cutting mouldings with a Logan F100-2 Pro saw, then trimming mitre surfaces with a mitre trimmer. Having made some adjustments I am now reasonably happy with my mitres and they seem pretty spot on when I dry fit them.

The problem I seem to be having is when I join the frame together. I am using a Logan Pro Joiner. I realise this may be the weak point in my work flow. It seems to be a bit hit and miss whether the mitres are joined tightly when inserting the v nails. I am hazarding a guess that the clamp in the joiner is not always managing to hold the corner tight and when the v nail is inserted it seems to push the joint apart. The photos attached show my latest effort...the second photo shows a reasonable mitre...the third pic shows what two of the mitres in the frame look like - i.e. with an unacceptable gap that has appeared following inserting v nails with the Logan pinner.