Freelance Framing

Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
Mog
Organisation: ?? Havnt decided
Interests: Photography, guitar, travel, horror movies : )

Freelance Framing

Post by Mog »

I have been looking for a full time picture framing job for a long time now to no avail, though I have several years experience. it seems most businesses are family run or one man bands. I am now looking into becoming a 'freelance' framer so I can help out people when their busy but they dont have the burden of having to employ someone. From what I've looked at already it seems I can work by the hour, day or have a contract for a certain project or period of time. (I do realise there will be times when none of the framers have work and am also looking into setting up a seperate business of a photography website its all still in early stages)

Does anyone have any advice for example, where to advertise (I guess Art Business Today is one option), what sort of thing framers are looking etc. Does anyone do this already?

Thanks
JamesC
Organisation: The Framed Picture Company
Interests: Printing and Framing, Canvas Prints, Perspex Mounting, Graphic Design, Football, Tennis, Golf, Computers, Film, Antiques, Mountain Biking, Bass Guitar, Music, Art, Mensa

Re: Freelance Framing

Post by JamesC »

If you have your own business and can write invoices out for subcontracting/self-employment that should help greatly because for small businesses employees and the hassle of setting that up is a big pain and demand can be up and down like a bride's nightie, as we say in yorkshire anyway.